Pinch and a Punch

First light and yawn

Last night was cold

This morning I feel the urge

Along with my tea and aching bones

To be spry

To indulge in a little lightness of spirit

Dance like an Irish myth

On superstition

On the first of this month

 

Up on my toes and out the door

Devil may care

I’ll pinch your arse and doff my cap

Watching the smile ride around your face

Take my son to football

And watch him score

As I salute the man upstairs

For his complicity in all of this

And no return.

Written on 1st December 2013

Leave a Reply

