A Pause

A PauseStruggling for words

How so? My silent friends

Those vowels and verbs

Stitches in the fabric

Of my magic cloak

 

They are quiet

Prisoners behind tight lips

Constrained to silence

Too timid to express

Fragrant air

 

I dare not let them rest

For superstition suggests

That they will languish

In some retirement home

Beyond my control

 

My best intentions are misguided

I should let them float

And settle like jewels in snow

For all the beauty wrapped in silken tones

Is bound to be free of me

Leave a Reply

