On wanting more than there can ever be

 

conscience cannot escape

conscience cannot escape

There is nothing more to do

‘cept listen

For trouble is all around

And I, in family

Strive for more

Yet nowhere find

Ears that listen

So I can communicate my gifts

All I seem to get is noise

Those far off echoes of collisions

I dimly know of

Those histories of lost opportunities

Dying breaths so low on smiles

And I, in oneness

Am smaller always in adversity

Fog-bound in night time scenery

Inept it seems

Still, now. A parent adrift

With cautious tales

And care on a drip

For so much feeds resentment

And so much will slip away

Without my knowing it

And then somehow

In the face to face

I shall sense

An opportunity to shine

As sorrows fade like their grim cousins

Those shrouded minds alert to sparks

Amid the rancour and vapours

That spent hostility lays’ down

Forgetting. Rapturously forgetting casual pain

Injuries inflicted. Left to freeze

So only history will unearth the truth

To speak well of victims

And all the quiet ones

Who came along and died.

Leave a Reply

