Walk on

Walk on

Walk on

Walk on

 

The sports field, fallow now, the season’s gone

Grass grown brown, untended between the posts

The referee, more than a whistle away

And I walk with the dog

Listen to the raucous chants of crows

All black and maudlin

And see random drips of yellow, wild flowers

Self-seeded dreams

And catch the perfume in early morning heat

For summer is here and it slows the blood

Makes more of the senses

When I am at peace

 

 

I have made my own oasis

Cool and quiet

Luxury in peace

Though a fly drones

Determined to annoy

And I wonder if it has a more appealing side

Distracted by philosophy

I feel that now I have enough

And this would be

A good moment

To pass away.

Leave a Reply

