Not Fade Away

Not Fade Away.jpg

Big and blousy

My condition used to shout

With the bombast of the bore

Imperious against restraint

Or calls to good behaviour

My will was all that you could have

Give or take

That selfish urge so dominant

Above the fraction of me

That occasionally saw the light

Dim and timid

Not minded to be decent

And so I progressed

A wounded lark with,

a twisted laugh

Toward ground zero

The turned soil

Of an early grave

Beckoning. Almost yearning.

For the enfolding dark

That would release me

From a demon

Into its’ maw

Leave a Reply

