Writers pique

Writers pique. Photograph.jpg

 

Rejection

and now I am eager to explore

The new. The re-invented.

For that seems to be the future

of where the prizes are.

The fashion now, and it is only NOW

has wrong-footed me.

My words undone, untied or ridiculed

for being out of date.

And so I reverberate

catch-up and perform somersaults

in order to be admired.

How tiring.

A vain pursuit. Smudged face

in a remorseless mirror.

Grow up you fool

don’t remonstrate.

The others have the accolades.

I have the Angel’s share.

2 thoughts on “Writers pique

  1. At the moment , I too, languish in the arrested zone……..but not for long!
    I enjoyed reading your poems this morning and the different feelings they produced. Writing is a wonderful way of unburdening but at the same time holding on to all we feel. I think. Daphne.
    Aa

Leave a Reply

